1 in 5 teens has cholesterol problems. Now what? – CNN.com

A recent study has concluded that 1 in 5 teens has cholesterol problems.  This was defined at either low HDLs (good cholesterol), high LDL (bad cholesterol) or high triglycerides.  Of course they treatment of choice is statins like lipitor “when diet and exercise” are not enough.  I have two problems with this.

1. I work with hundreds of people who have high cholesterol and rarely are they counseled on diet and exercise before told they must be on a statin type medication.  It is as if traditional medicine only sees the drugs as solutions.  If they are told about diet, they are told to eat a low fat diet which is incorrect.  Studies do not support that this is a more effective way of controlling blood lipids over a low carbohydrate diet.  What makes us think it will be any different for children?

2. Statin medications have not been tested for safety in children.  The list of side effects is very long for statins and subjecting children as young as 8 to these medications is potentially dangerous and could slow their growth.

What should happen is that people need to be taught to eat properly and exercise correctly.  Click below for the entire story from CNN.com.

via CDC: 1 in 5 teens has cholesterol problems. Now what? – CNN.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Big Pharma, Diet, Public Health

One response to “1 in 5 teens has cholesterol problems. Now what? – CNN.com

  1. trinkwasser

    What an unbelievable load of crap!

    I only discovered recently that my lipids were rubbish most of my life because previous doctors refused to give me the numbers. This would explain why I had gallstones in my 20s.

    There’s a strong tendency to “metabolic syndrome” and Type 2 in one side of my family, predominantly in non-obese individuals – obviously some genetic tendency to insulin resistance which I now realise I’ve had since childhood.

    Eventually I was put on a low fat high carb “Heart Healthy” diet – this *increased* my LDL. Adding a statin halved my LDL, reduced trigs but didn’t do much for HDL.

    Now I eat a low carb, relatively high saturated fat diet: my HDL has more than doubled, trigs are around 10% of what they were but I still need a statin at low dose to keep a handle on my LDL.

    I strongly suspect that IF I’d been given this dietary advice 50 years ago the statin would be unneccessary, as it turns out to be for many people who eat a rational diet. You’re spot on, it’s the ridiculous quantity of carbs in the SAD, which is no different from the Heart Healthy diet in being causal to the heart disease it’s supposed to cure.

Leave a Reply

