Thai Inspired Tuna Salad

Hello from Dr. Carrie!

We are introducing a new category on the Vreeland Clinic’s Blog….Recipes. I love food and as the person in our household who does the grocery shopping and cooking I want to make meals that both taste good and are healthy. Now, if you are a regular reader you know that for us “healthy” means eating protein, lots of vegetables and low glycemic fruit, good fats, and keeping the processed food and grain based carbohydrates to a minimum. Often, I find a recipe that calls for a grain or sugar which I omit or substitute something else. You’ll find those recipes with my edits in this section.

Additionally, one of the biggest obstacles for someone who is starting a program with us and changing their diet is figuring out what to cook. For those accustomed to a Standard American Diet it can be a little overwhelming and my hope is that this section of the blog will be a great resource for them. I also hope that it is a resource for those who’ve been on the program for years. I know I always love trying new things!

Here’s our first recipe:

I had a brainstorm the other day standing in line at the deli counter of one of our local grocery stores. The store had prepared Thai Tuna Burgers. They looked delicious and most of the ingredients were in line with our eating plan but they of course contained bread crumbs or something to bind them together. I realized I could use those flavors in our tuna salad. We eat a lot of tuna salad as it’s a great protein source and has anti-inflammatory omega-3 fatty acids. Here is my creation. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. I know we’ll be adding it to the tuna salad rotation.

 

Thai Tuna Salad

3 cans of tuna, drained

¼ of a red onion, diced

¼ c. cashews, chopped (I used roasted because it’s what I had on hand)

½ c. fresh cilantro, finely chopped

2 hard-boiled eggs, diced

½ of a lime

~1 c. of mayo (use less if you like your tuna salad drier and more if you don’t)

Combine tuna, onion, cashews, cilantro and hard-boiled eggs in a bowel. Squeeze the lime over the mixture. Add mayo and mix. Enjoy with some raw veggies or over a bed of mixed greens!

Feel free to add some red pepper flakes to spice it up a little.

Do you have a favorite tuna salad recipe? If so, feel free to share it with us!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Thai Inspired Tuna Salad

  1. Pingback: A Can of Tuna « newfoundlandtraveller

  2. Pingback: Fat-free (except the tuna) Tuna Salad: Recipe Sunday

  3. Pingback: Artichoke Tuna Salad | The Vreeland Clinic's Blog

Leave a Reply

