Smoked Cauliflower and Beef Casserole

cauliflower-

Cauliflower (Photo credit: Island Vittles)

Hi All,

I have some making up to do. Due to a super busy week last week, I wasn’t able to post a recipe so this week I’ll do two.

My sister-in-law sent me this recipe which she copied from one of my mom’s low-carb cookbooks. My bacon-obsessed brother was quoted as saying, “I’m in love with this,” and “it makes me think I’m eating bacon”. That’s not a bad place to start. I made it as the recipe directed the first time. We really liked it but then I thought I could make it even better. Here’s the recipe…I suggest you double it because you’re going to wish you had more if you don’t.

Smoky Cauliflower & Beef Casserole

1 medium head cauliflower

½ large white onion, diced

4 garlic cloves, diced

1 pkg (8oz) cream cheese, softened

1lb ground beef (preferably grass-fed, organic)

4 oz smoked Gruyère, Swiss or any other smoked cheese, shredded

1 tsp garlic powder

Salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350.

Cut up cauliflower & steam until tender. Coarsely mash the cauliflower.

Brown the ground beef with the onion and garlic.

Add the cream cheese and cauliflower to the beef mixture and stir until creamy. Add garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.

Spread half the cauliflower mixture in a 2 qt casserole dish.  Top with half of the shredded cheese.  Add remaining cauliflower & top with remaining cheese.

Bake until bubbly (about 30 min).

I usually serve another vegetable as a side preferably a green veggie like asparagus or broccoli.

Let me know what you think. Give it a try and leave a review. If you have a variation, share it with all of us. I know I’m always looking for a new recipe.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Smoked Cauliflower and Beef Casserole

  1. Meg Berlin

    Holy moly! That’s a lot of cream cheese – what does Dr Court, our leader, say about that?? : )

  2. Angie

    This was a great recipe. I made it on the stovetop in an iron skillet instead and used ground turkey instead. I will be making this regularly!

  3. Pingback: Sweet smoked egg scramble | f00dventures

Leave a Reply

