Portabella Hummus Melts

Oh, Pinterest, I do adore thee.

It can suck up my time faster than almost anything else on the planet, besides a good book, but occasionally I actually make something I’ve pinned to my board. That’s how this yummy side dish came to us. Even more exciting is that it’s a combination of 2 pins! Separately, I had pinned a link to “Best Hummus Recipe” and to these Hummus Melts. The Hummus Melts were originally on a toasted English muffin but when I saw the picture, I thought, “I bet those would be good on portabella caps!” And so here we are!

Last night I set out to make these. It was a tad ambitious considering we got home from the gym late. (I did however, dead lift 240lbs! Check out the picture on our Facebook page!) Despite the late start it all came together pretty quickly with a little help from Dr. Court AKA Grill Chef! The hummus is super easy to make and really does taste better than anything you buy in the store. These little melts are delicious. I do hope you give them a try and let me know what you think.

Portabella Hummus Melts

Make Hummus using this recipe and set aside. (I didn’t add the Tabasco sauce as Dr. Court’s stomach can’t handle it but it was wonderful without.)

After the hummus is made:

Clean out stem and gills of 4-6 large Portabella mushroom caps

Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper

Grill for 5-10 minutes or just until they are starting to get soft

In the mean time:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

And then:

Sauté 1/4 white onion, finely diced with 2 tsp garlic (about 2-3 cloves finely diced) and about 6 large handfuls of chopped organic spinach (1 large bag chopped or ½ of large Olivia’s Organics box) in butter or coconut oil and a dash of salt and pepper.

Once the mushrooms are soft, place them on a baking sheet. Dump out any juice that has accumulated in the cap. Spread ~1-2 Tbsp of hummus on them. Divide the spinach, onion and garlic mixture among the mushrooms and place on top of the hummus. Top with ~1 Tbsp of mozzarella cheese. Place under broiler until cheese is browned and bubbly.

Voila!

Enjoy with some organic, uncured bacon wrapped around grass-fed organic filet mignon or other healthy protein!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

