Summer Veggie Bake

Hello Summer! It’s been a while since I lasted posted a recipe. I have to admit that I was in a new recipe funk and couldn’t come up with something interesting to share with you. We were in our easy rut of grilling our meat and veggies for dinner, Veggies Scrambles for breakfast and lunch was usually leftovers or salads since we’ve had a TON of lettuce from our CSA. However, in the last week I have tried a couple of new recipes that I am really excited to share with you because they are super easy and delicious. Today’s recipe is a Summer Veggie Bake.  We recently had a version of this at dinner party and I thought it was fantastic so I came home and tried to recreate it. I happened to have a bunch of fresh herbs on hand from other recipes and some fresh tomatoes from a local farm stand.  I think it’s turned out pretty well maybe even a little better than the one we had at the party, if I do say so myself! 😉

Give it a try and let me know what you think. What other veggies could you add to change it up a bit? Herbs?

 

Summer Veggie Bake serves 4

1 large organic yellow squash

2 small – medium organic zucchini

2 tomatoes

1-2 shallots

Fresh basil, parsley, and oregano

Salt and pepper

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Grease an 8×8″ pan. (I freeze the butter wrappers so I used that to lightly grease the pan.)

3. Thinly slice the tomatoes, zucchini and yellow squash into rounds. Also, slice the shallots so they create thin rings.

4. Chop about 1/4-1/2  a cup each of fresh basil, Italian parsley and oregano.

5. Place a layer of tomatoes, zucchini, yellow squash in the pan. Top with some shallots and herbs and a dash of salt and pepper. Continue to layer in the pan until you are out of ingredients.

6. Bake covered at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the veggies are tender.

7. I cut the 8×8 dish into quarters and served a slice to each of us. You can top with Parmesan cheese if you would like.

Note: I would make my slices thinner the next time I make this dish. It still tasted yummy but it would layer a little better and cook more evenly if they were more uniform.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

