35 Points From A Body Transformation Contest

Recently, I entered into a 6-week body transformation challenge at the gym I belong to. It’s called KDR Fitness. Great place. It began February 10th and ended March 22nd. It was technically 41 days long. I decided to enter because I needed a kick in the butt to get back to the gym. In the previous year gym days were hard to come by. With a brand new baby and practice, my gym time was way down. To top it off, I had a neck injury that took me completely out of the gym for 3 months at the end of the year. As a consequence my body fat had increased to 21.7%. Not ideal for me. During the contest, I recorded my diet and exercised in order to lose body fat and gain lean mass. I wore a heart rate monitor for all of my workouts to calculate my calories burned and generally keep track of my workouts. Here are the things I learned:

  1. I started at 21.7% body fat.
  2. By the 4th week I was down to 19.4%
  3. By the end of the 6th week, I was down to 18.4%
  4. I gained 3.7 pounds of muscle in 6 weeks.
  5. I lost 7 pounds of fat in 6 weeks.
  6. I missed the gym.
  7. I worked out 25 times in 41 days.
  8. That’s 4 workouts per week with an occasional 5th thrown in.
  9. I ate MORE food than I had been eating and was able to lose fat and gain muscle.
  10. I burned 15,655 calories in 25 workouts.
  11. Each workout was about 1 hour.
  12. Each workout burned an average of 626.2 calories.
  13. The range of calories burned was 273 all the way up to 958.
  14. It is not that hard for me to avoid grain.
  15. I can count on one hand how many times I ate grain in 41 days (and it’s less than the whole hand).
  16. Cheat meals are important.
  17. This was a typical day in terms of food intake:
    Wake Up: 6:15
    Food for the day:
    Breakfast: 6:45 – 3 eggs, mixed veggies, and cheese cooked in butter. Coffee with organic half and half.
    Snack: 10:15 – 3 large beef and veggie meatballs, carrots, celery, and hummus.
    Lunch: 12:20 – Chicken breast, mixed peppers, 1 whole avocado.
    Snack: 3:30 – Protein shake, steamed broccoli.
    Workout – 60 minutes – protein/carbohydrate workout drink
    Dinner: 6:45 – Meatloaf, steamed broccoli and cauliflower with olive oil.
    Snack: 9:15 – Greek yogurt and banana.
  18. Food preparation is key.
  19. Eating 6 times per day isn’t that hard IF you’re prepared.
  20. Eating a lot of vegetables is fairly easy IF you’re prepared.
  21. You don’t necessarily have to count calories if the quality of your food is good.
  22. You can eat A LOT of food if you are working out hard and still lose weight.
  23. Burpees get easier the more you do them.
  24. Working out more consistently makes you want to workout more consistently.
  25. Using the scale to measure your progress is a bad idea.
  26. My weight changed from 190.9 to 187.6 in 6 weeks. Hardly encouraging if you’re just looking at the scale.
  27. Body fat analysis is far more informative.
  28. You only have time for the gym if you make time for the gym.
  29. You don’t need to be in the gym 7 days/week.
  30. Two busy people (my wife and I) can each take turns working out during the week and get great results.
  31. You should be willing and able to do an extra workout or two from home if you need to.
  32. You can turn snow blowing and shoveling your driveway into a workout quite easily.
  33. Body mass index (a measure of height to weight) is a terrible health assessment tool. According to it, I am “overweight.” This is because my lean mass is high, not because I am actually overweight.
  34. My basal metabolic rate (calories I burn at rest over 24 hours) increased from 1,835 to 1,870 over six weeks.
  35. The area of my body that gained the most muscle (as percent growth) was my left arm.

I was on a team of three and our entire team (Bro’s before Hoho’s) did very well. The winning team will win $3,000. I’ll find out in a couple of days which of the 18 teams won the contest. That’s not the important part, but it sure would be nice!

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Public Health

Leave a Reply

