Mexican Egg Casserole

Mexican Egg Casserole

Again I saw this on pinterest.com. I’m telling you it’s addictive! Anyway, I came across this egg casserole and wanted to try it. I love egg casseroles. I don’t think they should be reserved for holidays although they do come in very handy at that time of year. During the week they make our mornings easier when all we have to do is warm up a dish that I’ve already prepared and add some sliced berries or veggies. Plus, they are tasty and varied. I thought this one sounded interesting but after taking a look I knew I’d have to changes some things like removing the bread and adding more eggs.

Here’s my version.

Mexican Egg Casserole

8 oz. uncooked chorizo (spicy Mexican sausage)

8 oz. ground turkey

1 medium onion, chopped

Ingredients for Mexican Egg Casserole

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1 tbsp. minced garlic

1 cup baby spinach (I used 1 package frozen chopped spinach because I had some on hand)

18 eggs

2/3 cup organic half and half

1/2 tsp. ground mustard

1/2 tsp. salt

Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1/2 cup grated Swiss cheese (used mozzarella because I had it on hand)

1/2 cup grated extra sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup grated jalapeño cheddar cheese (I omitted this as I was afraid it would get too spicy for Dr. Court to handle)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9″ by 13″ baking pan with a saved butter wrapper.

Whisk the eggs, half and half, ground mustard, salt, and black pepper together, and set aside.

In a skillet, brown the chorizo and ground turkey until cooked through then add the onion and bell peppers and sauté until tender. Add garlic and sauté a minute more and then add spinach and cook just until spinach wilts (if using fresh).

Place the meat and veggies in the pan, then add the egg mixture and top with the cheeses. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until cooked through, uncovering for the last 5-10 minutes so the cheese will brown slightly on top.

Serve with some fresh sliced berries or cherry tomatoes.

Meat and veggies go on the bottom.

Add eggs and cheese.

ENJOY!!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Mexican Egg Casserole

  1. Ali

    thanks for the recipe but we live at two… 18 eggs is too many for two people.. looks like a good for a big family or gathering… as always.. in appreciation Alison Kelly

    ⋆◠☾☀

    _____

    • You aren’t going to eat this in one sitting. If it’s just two people, it would last you several days, if not an entire week. Cut up the casserole into small, individual pieces and enjoy it for multiple meals. It’s a great time saver in the morning!!!

Leave a comment